Media Center

Position:Home > Media Center > Financial Information > PBOC declares to strictly rectify the third-party payment industry or confiscate certain licenses for acquiring business

PBOC declares to strictly rectify the third-party payment industry or confiscate certain licenses for acquiring business

At the fourth meeting of the first council of the Payment & Clearing Association of China convened on the afternoon of January 21st, the Vice President Liu Shiyu of PBOC claims to strictly rectify the third-party payment industry, and that the solutions to such risk event don’t exclude confiscation of the acquiring business licenses from the third-party payment agencies that are severely involved in the recent credit card cash incidents.

According to the statistics of PBOC, among 250 enterprises that are endowed with the third-party payment license at present, 45 enterprises are granted with acquiring qualifications, among which 28 enterprises operate “nationally” and they will become the owners of the general national acquiring licenses in the near future. However, worries arouse amidst the industry that the credit card incident may slow down the progress of the general national acquiring license grant. This may trigger the reshuffle of the third-party payment industry ahead of schedule.

In the month at the turn of the year, some card holders in Zhejiang, Fujian and other provinces colluded with some merchants who supported pre-authorized transactions and conspired for extra credit limits of card-issuing banks by means of depositing large overpayments into the credit card and utilizing the business characteristics that the payment by acceptance is required in the pre-authorization completion transactions within 115% of the pre-authorized amount. ICBC and CUP have reported the case to the public security departments.

An overrun of 15% will be allowed if the POS machines permit pre-authorization, for example of the credit card with a 20,000 limit, if the user deposits one million, the credit limit will increase to 1.15 million. Some cardholders may utilize this rule to make cash advance, the amount of which is proportional to the credit limit of the bank-issued credit card. The authoritative statistics of the amount involved is not available currently. In this regard, the agencies under the supervision of PBOC and CBRC are required by PBOC and CBRC to report the data involved in the case.

The executive of a third-party payment company said to the Economic Observer that: “The core of this risk lies in the managements of credit card and pre-authorized POS machines, which needs banks’ attentions and the supervision of CBRC. CUP rules is one thing, but the most important is the omission of the card-issuing bank, whose verification of credit card issuer’s identity and due diligence of the POS machine risks are worth questioning.””

It is understood that the phenomena of long-term outsourcing of credit card market development and business transaction by some commercial banks, as well as blind pursuit of business scale while ignoring the risks may exist to some extent. If you search “credit card agency” on Baidu.com, the advertisements of various intermediaries, such as “credit card with high limit, 30 seconds online application”, “Free from complicated eligibility requirements”, “Beijing credit card agency”, “Zhuhai credit card agent + QQ number”, will pop up. The story that “someone once took a sack of identity cards of migrant workers to apply for credit cards” often spreads in this industry.

The executive believes that the third-party payment industry is “wronged as Dou E”, and “we are required to be treated for the bank’s omission”. He argues that this risk event is “like a small sorcerer in the presence of a great one” if compared to bad loans of the hundreds of billions in steel trades. But the bankers of the commercial bank express to the Economic Observer that, the credit card risk exposure is insignificant if compared to that arising from the overall quality of bank loan assets, but some involved in the credit card cash advance this time are steel trade owners, and the credit card incident is the tiny trigger point of China’s credit risk and economic risk.

The issue of the fourth meeting of the first council of the Payment & Clearing Association of China is to review the work report and 2014 work plans, financial budgets and final account reports of the first council of the Payment & Clearing Association of China, and to authorize the secretariat to review and approve new members and conduct general elections of the council. During the meeting, the president Yi Huiman of ICBC is elected as the second Chairman of the Payment & Clearing Association of China, and the president Jiang Chaoliang of ABC will not be at the post of Chairman.

According to the data obtained from Hubei Province by the journalist of Economic Observer obtained from data and other incomplete statistical data, ChinaPNR and ICBC stand out because of largest amounts involved in the credit card incident respectively amidst the third-party acquirers and card-issuing banks. At the meeting, Yi Huiman believes that the main reason for this risk event is the loopholes of CUP pre-authorization rules are utilized by the criminals.

媒体中心

当前位置:首页 > 媒体中心 > 金融资讯 > 央行称要严厉整顿第三方支付业 或没收若干收单牌照

央行称要严厉整顿第三方支付业 或没收若干收单牌照

央行副行长刘士余在1月21日下午召开的支付清算协会第一届理事会第四次会议上表示要严厉整顿第三方支付业,对这一风险事件的处理方法不排除对在近期发生的信用卡套现事件中涉案较为严重的第三方支付机构没收收单牌照。

根据央行的统计数据,目前获得第三方支付牌照的250家企业中,获收单资格的有45家,其中经营范围为“全国”的有28家,这28家也将在近期变为全国性收单牌照,但业内担心会因此次信用卡事件放慢进度。这或将引发第三方支付行业提前洗牌。

在岁末年初的一个月内,浙江、福建等省部分持卡人通过向信用卡内存入大额溢缴款,利用预授权完成交易需在预授权金额115%范围内予以付款承兑的业务特性,与部分支持预授权类交易的特约商户勾结,合谋套取发卡银行额外信用额度。工行、银联已向公安部门报案。

POS机开通预授权以后可以超限15%,比如说一张2万信用额度的信用卡,用户存入100万后,额度就扩大到了115万,有些持卡人利用这个规则,把钱套出来,可以花掉115万,这和银行发行信用卡时的授信额度成比例上升。目前尚无对涉事金额的权威统计。央行和银监会正在此事让其监管的机构分别上报涉案数据。

一家第三方支付公司中高层则对经济观察网表示:“这一风险的核心在于很多银行对信用卡的管理和预授权POS机的管理,这是要引起银行重视的,银监会也有监管责任。银联的规则是一方面,但最主要是发卡行的问题,发卡行对信用卡发卡人身份的核实、对POS机风险的尽职调查都值得追问。”

据了解,一些商业银行信用卡市场开拓和办理业务长期外包,盲目追求规模而忽视风险的状况也一定程度上存在。若在百度上输入“信用卡代办”搜索,各种中介机构的“高额信用卡代办,30秒网上申请”、“免去复杂申请条件”、“北京信用卡代办”、“珠海信用卡代办+QQ号”的广告都弹了出来。“有人拿着一麻袋农民工的身份证去办信用卡”的段子也经常在这个行业中流传。

这位中高层认为第三方支付行业这次“比窦娥还冤”:“银行的事情,让我们来吃药。”他认为这一风险事件相比于几千亿的钢贸不良贷款是“小巫见大巫”。但有商业银行人士向经济观察网记者表示,信用卡风险敞口相比于整个银行贷款资产质量所产生的风险敞口来说,并不大,但此次信用卡套现分子有一部分为钢贸企业主,信用卡事件是整个中国信贷风险、经济风险的小触发点。

这次支付清算协会第一届理事会第四次会议主要议题是审议支付清算协会第一届理事会工作报告和2014年工作计划、财务预算决算报告、授权秘书处审查批准新会员入会并对常务理事会进行换届选举。会议选举工商银行行长易会满为支付清算协会第二任会长,农行董事长蒋超良不再担任会长一职。

从经济观察网记者拿到的湖北省的数据及其他不完全统计的数据来看,汇付天下是此次风险事件中涉案金额最大的第三方收单机构,而工行则是此次信用卡事件中涉案金额最大的发卡行。易会满在会议中认为此次风险事件的主要原因是银联的预授权规则漏洞被犯罪分子钻了空子。