Media Center

Position:Home > Media Center > Industrial Information > Ferrous Metallurgy –China Iron and Steel Industry: the Real Great Transformation being Round the Corner –Engineering Department

Ferrous Metallurgy –China Iron and Steel Industry: the Real Great Transformation being Round the Corner –Engineering Department

If the treatment of the ineradicable diseases of iron and steel industry is a battle, 2014 may be the year to declare war, because the tough situation allows no delay.

“Different from years ago when no actual measure was taken, the iron and steel industry will usher in the times of huge differentiation, extensive reorganization and deep integration”, said Xu Lejiang, Chairman of Baosteel, on January 12, who is now the Chairman of China Iron and Steel Association. Because of such promotion, the significance of this judgment sentence differs delicately.

“Differentiation”, “reorganization” or “integration” is not as easy as it sounds in terms of a traditional industry with fixed pattern formed years ago. However, Xu Lejiang had his reasons to make the above remark after taking a glance at the current situation of the iron and steel industry of China within recent years.

In the fourth season of 2011, the iron and steel industry started to lose profit, and in 2012, the industry encountered the first tide of industry-extensive losses since the beginning of 21st Century.

2013 should be the year when responses should be made by relevant governments, associations, enterprises and the difficulties should be treated. However, one can know from the outcomes of 2013 that although certain achievements were reached in fields of technical progress, environmental protection, energy saving, etc., problems influencing healthy development of this industry, such as excess production capacity, low concentration ratio, etc., have not been resolved yet.

According to the latest data from China Iron and Steel Association, the output of crude steel of 2013 increased to 779,000,000 t with year-on-year growth of 7.5% and reached a new high in the history. In addition, in consideration of percentages of outputs of enterprises with top 4 outputs and top 10 outputs in total outputs of China, which were 22.6% and 42.8% in 2011, 21% and 39.7% in 2012 and 20.8% and 39.1% in January-November 2013, the concentration ratio of the industry decreased instead of increasing.

Under the background of excess production capacity and unfair competition of iron and steel industry, iron and steel enterprises in China have been trapped into “vicious cycle of meager profit”. The profitability of the iron and steel industry of 2005 was as high as 6.25%, but that of 2013 was only 2.16% according to latest data.

If the treatment of the ineradicable diseases of iron and steel industry is a battle, 2014 may be the year to declare war, because the tough situation allows no delay. How will iron and steel industry of China differentiate? Who will dominate the reorganization? Which ways will be applied to realize the integration? Will 2014 witness the rebirth of iron and steel industry? We may learn something from opinions of Li Xinchuang, Deputy Secretary General of China Iron and Steel Association, and concurrently President of China Metallurgical Industry Planning and Research Institute.

China Machinery & Electric Industry: recently, Xu Lejiang mentioned that iron and steel industry would usher in the times of “huge differentiation, extensive reorganization and deep integration” at the (Enlarged) Board Meeting of China Iron and Steel Association. What do you think about this opinion? Iron and steel industry has been attempting to contain the excess production capacity for several years, but it seems that “the production capacity increased after adjustment” according to the actual results. Will there be any solid breakthrough?

Li Xinchuang: transformation of any industry necessitates preconditions. At macro level, the preconditions for transformation of iron and steel industry of China exist. A series of economic reforms performed targeted at and attached great importance to the decisive role of market. Reform of the iron and steel industry also depends on market, which contains two levels of connotations:

Firstly, the iron and steel market needs to be a fair market. This requires the governments to prepare scientific and practical market access mechanism and maintain a strict standard. Take environmental protection as example, compared with enterprises taking fewer environmental measures or even without any environmental measure, the costs of those strictly implementing the environmental standards spent on environmental protection are RMB 100 higher, which put such enterprises at a disadvantage. Therefore, this is not only about environmental protection, but also about fair competition of enterprises.

Certain enterprises can be knocked out and partial production capacity can be decreased by strictly controlling problems like environmental protection and creating a fair market.

Secondly, survival of the fittest enterprises should be realized by following the market discipline. Due to the rapid growth of production capacity of the iron and steel industry, lack of control of upstream mineral product industries, low industrial concentration ratio and other factors, the profit margins of iron and steel enterprise was once squeezed down, which was another disaster for enterprises under poor operation,lagging in technology and keeping product homogeneity. Many steel enterprises are making up their losses through investment, trade and finance businesses after they suffered from losses, and some other enterprises are attempting to improve their financial statements by decreasing the rate of depreciation. It seems that such enterprises are still in good status, but they are in sub-health status. Suffering from actual losses of main industry plus higher debt ratio, some of the iron and steel enterprises may be eliminated from the market in case of capital chain rupture.

Of course, different from cerement industry, integration of the iron and steel industry cannot be realized by some enterprises in the short run. Iron and steel industry is closely related to national economy and people’s livelihood, and there are tens of thousands kinds and specifications of steel products. This decides the complexity of transformation of iron and steel industry.

“China Machinery & Electric Industry”: during the first 11 months of 2013, total profits of large iron and steel enterprises included in financial statistics of China Iron and Steel Association was RMB 16.2 billion, and the total loss was RMB 0.8 billion compared with that of the same period of 2012, which means that great progress has been made. But how did they make the progress? What breakthroughs can enterprises make in this tough situation in 2014?

Li Xinchuang: to a great extent, this achievement was realized with non-steel industries, and the main iron and steel industry of most enterprises still suffers from loss. In addition, factors for making profits also include: significant decrease of prices of raw materials, especially coal and coke; decrease of rate of depreciation; and technical transformation, management enhancement, quality improvement, cost reduction and efficiency increase, etc. carried out by steel enterprises.

As for enterprises, sizes, resources, and regions of enterprises differ from each other, so they should seek for breakthroughs based on their own conditions.

As for the entire industry, large market space remains to be developed. For example, in developed countries like the United States and Japan, the percentages of steel structures used in newly established buildings are as high as 50%~70%, but that of China is only 4%. In the wake of change of architectural concept in China and the rising of architectural standards, large potential market can be developed.

In addition, along with the development of mechanical and electronic industry, automobile industry and other relevant industries, additional market may be developed by improving grades of steel used. Ball bearing steels, stainless steel and steel structure have better market prospect.

媒体中心

当前位置:首页 > 媒体中心 > 行业资讯 > 中国钢铁行业:真正的大变革正在来临

中国钢铁行业:真正的大变革正在来临

如果破解钢铁行业顽症是一场战役,那2014年或许就是吹响冲锋号的一年,因为形势已经刻不容缓。

“不会再像几年前,吹阵风就过去了,钢铁行业将面临实质性的大分化、大重组、大整合。”1月12日,说出这句话的宝钢集团董事长徐乐江,此时的身份是中国钢铁工业协会会长,也正因如此,这个判断句的分量也就有微妙的不同。

对于一个早已形成固定格局的传统行业,“分化”、“重组”、“整合”谈何容易?可就近几年的钢铁行业的形势来看,徐乐江此言事出有因。

2011年第四季度,钢铁行业主业开始出现亏损。2012年,钢铁行业遭遇了新世纪以来的首次全行业亏损。

2013年,应该是政府、协会、企业等各层面做出反应、应对困境的一年。从2013年交出的答卷来看,虽然在技术进步、环保节能等方面有一定成绩,但影响行业健康发展的产能过剩、行业集中度低等问题仍然未得到遏制。

来自中国钢铁工业协会的最新数据显示,2013年全年粗钢产量继续增长达到7.79亿吨,同比增长7.5%,创历史新高。另外,以产量前4、前10位的钢企产量占全国产量的比例衡量,2011年分别为22.6%,42.8%,2012年分别为21%,39.7%,2013年1~11月分别为20.8%,39.1%,行业集中度不增反降。

在全行业产能过剩以及不正当竞争频现的局势下,中国钢铁企业逐步被拉入“微利怪圈”。2005年,钢铁行业利润率达6.25%,而据最新公布的数据,2013年的利润率仅为2.16%。

如果破解钢铁行业顽症是一场战役,那2014年或许就是吹响冲锋号的一年,因为形势已经刻不容缓。中国钢铁行业将如何分化?谁来主导重组?又将以怎样的形式整合?2014年,钢铁行业是否能凤凰涅槃、浴火重生?让我们一起来看看中国钢铁工业协会常务副秘书长、中国冶金工业规划研究院院长李新创的观点。

《中国机电工业》:近日,徐乐江在中钢协会理事(扩大)会议讲到行业将迎来“大分化、大重组、大整合”。您如何看待这一观点?多年来,钢铁行业一直在试图遏制产能过剩,但从实际运行效果看,似乎有些“越调越过剩”。这次是否会有质的突破?

李新创:任何一个行业,变革都需要前提条件。从宏观的层面讲,这个前提条件是具备的。从当前的一系列经济改革来看,都是要突出市场的决定性作用。钢铁行业的改革当然也是要依靠市场的,这里有两个层面的含义:

第一,必需是一个公平的市场环境。这就要求政府制定科学的、可操作的市场准入机制,并严格把关。以环保为例,严格执行环保标准的企业与环保措施不到位、甚至没有的企业相比,其吨钢环保成本会高出100多元,这就导致其在市场竞争中处于不利地位。所以这不仅仅是环保的概念,还是一个企业公平竞争问题。

通过对于诸如环保等问题的严格把控,创造公平的市场环境,可以淘汰一部分企业,化解一部分产能。

第二,就是按市场规律办事,实现优胜劣汰。由于钢铁产能的快速增长,企业对于上游矿产行业的把控力度不够以及行业集中度低等因素,钢铁企业的利润空间一度被挤压,这会给经营不善、技术落后、产品同质的企业雪上加霜。很多钢企主业亏损后,通过投资、贸易、金融来弥补,还有个别企业通过降低折旧率来让报表好看点。表面上看这些企业似乎还可以,其实处于亚健康状态,主业实际亏损,再加上过高的负债率,一旦企业的资金链出现断裂,部分钢铁企业随时可能被市场淘汰掉。

当然,不要认为钢铁行业可以像水泥行业那样,通过某几个企业短期内实现行业整合。钢铁行业事关国计民生,产品又涉及几万个品种和规格。这决定了钢铁行业变革的复杂性。

《中国机电工业》:2013年前11个月,列入中钢协财务统计的大型钢铁企业实现利润162亿元,相较2012年同期亏损8亿元,还是有了较大进步。请问这个业绩是如何取得的?2014年,在这样严峻的大形势下,企业还有哪些突破点?

李新创:很大程度上讲,这个业绩主要是靠非钢产业实现的,绝大多数钢铁主业仍然是处于亏损状态。此外,实现利润的因素还有:原料价格大幅下降尤其是煤炭、焦炭的价格大幅下降;降低折旧;钢企通过技术改造、加强管理,提高质量、降本增效等等。

针对企业而言,行业内企业体量、资源、所处区域各有不同,所以还是得依照自身情况找到突破点。

就全行业来看,还是有很多市场空间可以开发的。例如像美国、日本等发达国家钢结构应用在新增建筑当中达到了50%~70%,而目前我国只有4%左右。随着我国建筑理念的转变、建筑标准的提升,这里面就会有很大的市场。

同时,伴随机电行业、汽车行业等相关行业的发展,提高用钢的档次,也会开发出一部分市场。诸如轴承钢、不锈钢、钢结构都会有很好的市场前景。